Skip to Content

Blogger Book Club

Monday, October 08, 2018

Be Prepared by Vera Brosgol

Be PreparedVera, who moved to America from Moscow when she was five, doesn't fit in very well with the other girls in her class. Maybe it's because she's poorer than they are, or maybe it's because she's just not American enough. Vera dreams of going away to summer camp just like her school friends, but all of the camps are too expensive. Then, one day, she learns about a Russian Orthodox camp from one of the girls at her church, and it sounds great! She can go camping like her American friends, but everyone will be Russian, like her! Maybe she will finally fit in.

However, while Vera can speak Russian, she can't read it... and all the guide books are written in Russian. And camping is outside, with lots of bugs and outhouses. And she's sharing a tent with older girls who are mean to her, and she doesn't know anyone, and the boys are mean, and maybe this camping thing isn't as easy as she thought it would be. Will Vera make new friends? How will she survive the summer when she can't even play capture the flag right?

Perfect for fans of Drama or Roller Girl, this middle grade graphic novel captures the feelings of not fitting in no matter where you pitch your tent.

Labels: , , ,


Blog Home

Subscribe to Blogger Book Club
by Email

Book Links

Current Reviews


Keep up with what's new
for kids with the
YS news blog:

News in Youth Services


Archive


Powered by Blogger

RSS